October 23, 2021

My Blog

My WordPress Blog

Pegasus XL rocket launches secretive ‘space domain awareness’ satellite for US Space Force

3 min read



A Northrop Grumman rocket successfully launched a secretive Space Force satellite for “space domain awareness” — or detecting artificial objects in orbit — on Sunday (June 13) in a rapid response mission for the U.S. military.

A Northrop Grumman L-1011 carrier aircraft took off from the newly renamed Vandenberg Space Force Base and flew out over the Pacific Ocean, where it launched the a solid fuel Pegasus XL rocket carrying the new satellite at 4:11 a.m. EDT (1:11 a.m. PDT/0811 GMT). Vandenberg officials confirmed the success of the launch in a Facebook statement



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.