December 2, 2021

My Blog

My WordPress Blog

Constellations of the Western zodiac

5 min read

Stars in our galaxy are scattered across a vast, three-dimensional space. When we look up from the surface of our planet, though, that’s not what we see. We see constellations: two-dimensional pictures and shapes connecting stars in the sky to stories from cultures around the globe. One tradition related to the stars is the Western zodiac, made up of 12 constellations: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

Those constellations are connected to myth and legend, as well as the unscientific concepts of modern astrology. But they were also important instruments that once marked the passage of time and the seasons. Today, constellations continue to be valuable tools to orient astronomers and stargazers in the night sky. 

What are the zodiac constellations?

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.